1. This morning I caught a glimpse of the paper and it showed a flag covered coffin, with the headline, “Beloved Public Safety Official Mourned” and I instantly thought: “McGruff the Crime Dog is dead?”  Seriously, I’m going to hell.
  2. Tomorrow is my last day to work on my room before I officially go back to work and it is really coming together.  Everything is filed, there are only three boxes with old files, and they can be attended to at leisure (if I’m lucky that will happen sometime before I retire, but maybe I’ll put in a Saturday or two to knock those out.) Now I am on improving my Feng Shui, so my room is a clean, well lighted and harmonious spot.  I went to Ikea and bought some posters and frames, because on the higher walls it is fairly useless to put informational items, because it is too high, so I picked purty, but geography like stuff. So finishing the final touches, like labeling, and doing the bulletin board and hanging the new posters, putting the dates in my plan book, those are tomorrow’s tasks.
  3. The dominant colors have turned out to be blue red and yellow.  Too bad teachers don’t register for gifts, I could get matching towels.
  4. I really feel very good about this work the last two weeks.  I feel like I can walk in Monday and really get to work on planning.
  5. Now, this is all well and good, but as I was leaving today I ran into a mother and two kids, and upon questioning it turned out one of the boys was a new 6th grader.  I said oh, great, well, my name is Eleanor, what is yours?  He paused and said, “I’m not going to tell you,” and started to walk away, but I called him back and said, did you notice how I introduced myself by my first name, blah dee blah dee blah, we try to get to know each other, here, I am here if you need help, we are a community etc, etc, and I was very cheerful and nice through all of this.   Then I said, so let’s try again, Hi, Welcome, my names Eleanor, what’s yours.  And he pauses again and then says, Joe McNothing, or some such nonsense and I laughed it off and said ok, well, I’ll call you that until you graduate, smiled at his quite embarrassed (I hope) mom and said goodbye and off I went.  See this is why I hate kids.  No I don’t mean that. But frankly, he was quite shockingly rude, and his mother didn’t execute him on the spot, as my mother would have done had I dared by lippy like that to a grownup.  I can laugh it off of course.  But kid, I got a list, and your name is on it.
This entry was posted in Organization, School. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Melissa says:

    YOU ARE MY HERO!!!! I hope that mother is embarrassed beyond belief (although I doubt she is; otherwise she would have corrected the child on the spot). Now that he’s on your list, I can’t wait to see what kind of year this kid is going to have with you. Keep us posted!

  2. RomeLover says:

    In a perfectly fair world, such a child would not be going to your school, only the deserving ones would.
    But, in the theory of grace, perhaps your loving example will start him off and he will be redeemed well before he graduates.

    Or not….

  3. Eleanor says:

    He’s a sixth grader, so I won’t have him, but believe me, I’ll be watching, so if neccessary and can give him some more “lessons.” And yes, let us hope, that like most, he’ll become a tolerable human being in 6 years time. Frankly, most kids that age are learning to be pills, but usually they reign it in with teachers. Ah well, the joys of adolescence!

  4. “Joe McNothing”, huh? That’s a name not easily forgotten. I hope he sees lots of you even if he’s not in your classroom. There’s no time like the present to begin moulding young hearts, minds and lives. Go get ’em, El!

  5. A Great site keep up the good work

  6. Heathe says:

    He ought to beware of self fulfilling prophecies.

Leave a Reply

