1. Yesterday was the crazy workout circuit. They keep upping the ante.  100 pushup situp and squats, 25 laps and now 200 jump ropes (it used to be only ropes, then only laps, now we’ve got it all.)  I’m slow like a turtle on those laps and was last to finish, but I finished.  Hooray!
  2. I’ve completed my wreath based on the Starbucks Yarn Ball Wreath concept.  I think it came out nicely.  It hangs on the front door, giving a warm yarny greeting to all.
  3. In a total impulsive move, I said I’d take a student teacher from January to March.  I kind of thought I had waited too long to answer the memo, but I got a response back pretty quickly.  I had a student teacher once before at my other school, and that was a pretty good experience, and that teacher is now a really great one.  I didn’t have much to do with her being good, but I feel good that I gave her a place to get going.  I think that is the idea that I like, that I am giving up my time so someone else can get started.  Also, frankly, this could really help me, if it allows me to focus on my high school classes while she does the middle school.
  4. Our long term sub  was part of the impetus for this.  He is going to teacher school, and in the course of a misunderstanding about when I need him for a field trip (I thought this week, it is next) he went ahead and taught the lesson yesterday.  I observed him and then we talked about it later.  Seeing someone else do it is kind of engergizing and gives me new ideas.
  5. I’m trying a little experiment from now until the break where I try to get out of the house by 5:50 and have from 6:10 to 8:20 to work at school. These times are all A.M. F.Y.I.  I just don’t have the time I need in any other spot.  I used to do this many years ago, regularly got moving by 6.  We shall see….
This entry was posted in Crafts, Scary Workout Challenge, School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. RomeLover says:

    imho–early morning is the best time to work. God is very present. Or maybe, we’re still asleep enough to feel that…whatever. GO FOR IT.

  2. Anne C says:

    That time of day is a noble and distant thought for me….unless I stay up all night I’m unlikely to be seen at that hour!

  3. RomeLover says:

    hey, you should be energized by your school’s “standing” listed in today’s (thursday) paper!!!

  4. Eleanor says:

    It’s funny, I think that rating causes us more problems than it helps. The kids get big heads, and get overly, in my opinion, preoccuppied with AP courses, rather than alternative type activities (anything might be very enriching, but doesn’t give you a grade at the end of it.) which was what we were founded for. The plus side is that the school system tends to leave us alone, but really, I wish we would take ourselves out of that assessment. Some schools have. Hmm, I seem to have alot to say on it, maybe I should write a post on the subject!

    Hey congrats to you and yours by the way! Woooo! Postulant! Woooo!

Leave a Reply

