1. My friend Jeff has joined the communion of saints.  That is fancy Episcopal talk for “that bastard of a beast cancer roughed him, and he  fought as hard as he could, but he died.”  He was a fun and good friend. So many things have been said about him lately, I really don’t even know what to say anymore, except I don’t like thinking about him not being in the world.
  2. This event, which I was privileged to witness, has thrown the fragile balance that was school into a bit of a flurry, what with missing a couple days, and then the vacant staring.  I also just wonder, and maybe I’d be wondering this anyway, even if Jeff was still here, if I am doing any good, or if it is all just a charade, and all the students will remember someday is some vague fact that doesn’t really matter.  I mean, “infill and smart growth?”  Really?  How important is that?  I find it interesting, but do they really care and are they paying attention?
  3. I feel very lucky to be in the communities I am in.  My crazy school with the children, who make you breakfast to make up for their behavior at a dance .(The “Apology Brunch” I heard one kid call it.)  My Church, where we eat food, and love Jesus. Paul who wakes me from where I have fallen asleep on the couch, coat still on after returning from vestry, and sends me up to bed.  My friends who understand pretty much everything.  My family, who I hope know that I love them, even when I don’t write.
  4. I have a great life.  I know that. Still feel bad though.  I guess that is ok.
  5. Ali says life has been standing still and that is an apt description, even in the bustle.  Standing still.  Waiting for a bus, a flower, a rain, a spark, a reason.  Something to get things moving again.
This entry was posted in Just write already.. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Ralph says:

    To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children…to leave the world a better place…to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”

  2. Chris (yr bro) says:

    Yes your life is at a standstill, but then no one is trying to blow you up, either!

    You want a spark to get things moving? Quit yer whining and get ready to party! We will be up there in 4 days!

    yr bro

  3. Eleanor says:

    It is true, we did choose different career paths….
    I can’t wait to see you guys! I’ll come to mope around your house Monday after school.

  4. Connie says:

    “And then the vacant staring.” You are one eloquent woman! Hope it gets better. And as far as whether you are doing any good or not, you are. So say I, and you know I am an Episcopal priest! (A fact which I still find amazing!) Love you!

Leave a Reply

